Writing for a mate’s 40th.

I get asked for samples every now and again, and enquiries about how the finished poem might sound. All perfectly understandable, and questions like these are common:

  • How long is each verse?
  • Will it be funny?
  • Will it rhyme?
  • Will it be clean?
  • Can it be sentimental?

And because I can’t really share the poems I’ve written specifically for my clients, I’ve had to make up odd verses and put those on my blog. Well now, at last, I have a legitimate poem that you can listen to for yourself… unfortunately, you’ll have to put up with me delivering it.

One of my oldest friends in the UK has just turned 40. A good mate of his got in touch and asked if I’d write something to be played as a surprise at the restaurant they were celebrating in. I loved the idea, and this is what I came up with.  Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Writing for a mate’s 40th.

Leave a Reply

